Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday #20

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event spotlighting upcoming releases that we readers are eagerly anticipating and is hosted by Breaking the Spine.
Between the Spark and the Burn
by April Genevieve Tucholke

Publication Date: August 14, 2014

From Goodreads: 

The conclusion to Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, this gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and Daphne du Maurier is a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Anna Dressed in Blood.Freddie once told me that the Devil created all the fear in the world.
But then, the Devil once told me that it's easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.
The problem with River West Redding was that he'd done both to me.


The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet's life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River's other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn't long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .

4 comments:

  1. I wasn't a huge fan of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, but I am a bit curious about the sequel. I might have to give this story another shot because I want to see how everything turns out.
    (Also, is it just me or does this cover pale in comparison to the first one?! I thought the first one was GORGEOUS, but this one isn't as great.)
    My WoW
    -Rachel

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think this is the final installment. So I'm glad I won't be waiting forever to see how it ends. I did like the first book, but I really like dark books.

      Thanks for stopping by! :-)

      Delete
  2. I haven't read the first book but I love the covers for this series. Thanks for sharing. Here’s my WOW

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love the covers as well, and I really liked the first book, too. Definitely one I'm glad I read.

      Thanks for stopping by! :-)

      Delete